Somnio Novo

Somnio Novo

Olivia Belli

Somnio Novo

Somnio Novo represents the “New Dream” and is the exploration of the nocturnal world and its light.

Olivia Belli returns to the material of her album Sol Novo with a concept EP that features four new solo piano works, all of the different variations on Visions To Come. It also features the first-ever remixes of her work by label mates Hugar and Ed Carlsen, alongside American ambient composer Slow Meadow, who all reworked tracks from Sol Novo

“I had to do something more with it, because my journey with this project was not finished.” Belli chose Visions To Come, not just because it was the very first track she wrote for the album, but because of what it symbolized. “It’s the beating heart of Sol Novo because I was trying to find positivity in the strange, terrible moments we were living through with Covid, and a vision that the future could be better – for humanity and for nature.”

For the remixes, the artists were given total freedom to choose the song, and to rework it as they saw fit – “I wanted them to be as free as possible,” says Belli. 

Always finding new inspiration in light and nature surrounding her home in the Marche region of central Italy, this time around she focuses on the night light and the concept of dreams: “David Lynch always talks about developing the ability to daydream – of letting your mind be free and reacting to everything around you. Somnio Novo is the idea of this kind of dream, but at night, and a desire to seek out this dreaming energy. I need this energy myself as much as possible – so I’m trying to find it everywhere.”

  1. 01 Impromptu
  2. 02 Nocturne I
  3. 03 Nocturne II
  4. 04 Prélude
  5. 05 Sol Novo
  6. 06 As I Was
  7. 07 Two Seas

Pianist & Composer

Olivia Belli